top of page
  • nmieventpros

Meet the Member: Brenda Shuman

Updated: Jan 14, 2018

While we work together on occasion or get the chance to network every once and a while, we wanted to make sure to give members of Northern Michigan Event Professionals (NMEP) the chance to get to know each other on a slightly more personal level. And so, "Meet the Member" was born.


And we thought there was no better person to kick off this series than Traverse City's very own Brenda Shuman, owner of Onsite Bridal, a hair and make-up artistry studio. You may know Brenda as the smiling face you've seen at our Happy Hours or as the woman laughing with the bride as she applies her make-up on her wedding day.


We asked Brenda a few questions and wanted to share her answers with you!

Q: What led you to this career path?

Brenda: I'm an ISFJ (that's a "care taker" if you know the meyers brigg test)... so I think everything - lol. I had the opportunity to go to Cosmetology through my High School and instantly knew that was my career path. When we decided to move to Traverse City our focus was, gain more time together as a family, be more involved in the volunteer ministry work we do and have jobs that could fall in line with that. I had worked in a salon for 11 years and offered wedding services on the side. I knew it was what i wanted to do full time. So with that and Paul's support and encouragement I look the plunge and opened On-Site Bridal in Spring of 2014 and have had an amazing experience since!


Q: What is the best part of your job?

Brenda: That's a tough one! but I'd have to say the fulfillment of seeing a clients reaction after their services. When a client sees their overall wedding day look, there is no other comparative expression I can relate it too. It's that moment when everything becomes so real, and they've invested in themselves to be pampered on that day. It's an unmatched feeling. A close second would be working in my onesie p.js full-time 😅


Q. Best piece of advice for your potential clients?

Brenda: Take the pressure off the idea of the assumed perfect. We live in a fast paced, fast fashion, glitz and filtered world. We have a tendency to put so much pressure on ourselves and what is "portrayed" or what others "expect" instead of what is important. Your wedding day is about marrying your best friend, making and honoring a life long commitment and sharing that with family and friends. Of course all of the extras will make it gorgeous, but don't forget the best part is waiting for you at the end of the aisle :)


Q. Most memorable event you’ve worked and why?

Brenda: These are hard questions! I have had some amazing clients and some really fun moments but I would have to say last summer I had the pleasure of working with a stellar bunch of ladies. Hannah had 100% trust in us from the start. On the day of the wedding we showed up to a party of 10 girls all wearing animal onesies. I almost died! I am a die hard fan of p.j onesies, so this was my jam! I knew these were my people!! The day was nothing but fun, music, laughing, care free excitement! Mimosas were flowing and Hannah was ear to ear about getting married and kept saying 'Nothing else matters!" "whatever happens today, I don't care because i'm getting married!". That wedding was special to me, because it truly mimicked a lot of what it was like on my wedding day and I was just so grateful in that moment to be able to be a part of something so awesome!


Q. If you could travel to anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

Brenda: I'd have to say Italy! I have a lot of places on my list, but Italy is the one Paul (my husband) and I both want to visit the most and I can not wait to eat all the gluten and all the dairy chased by delicious wine, all in such beautiful place!


Q: Can you tell us a fun fact about you?

Brenda: My dad loved the names Beatrice and Gertrude for a girl, fortunately my mom chimed in and chose Brenda, I am forever grateful haha!! I'm sure there are a lot of adorable people with these names, however i could have seen that going very badly for me 😅



You can find out more about Brenda and Onsite Bridal by visiting her website, Instagram, or checking out her portfolio!


Interested in being featured on our Meet the Member series or know someone who would be a stellar feature? We'd love to learn more! Head over to our Contact Page and shoot us a message!

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page