top of page
  • nmieventpros

Meet the Member: Cammie Buehler

Updated: Feb 19, 2018

We are so excited to present the second edition of "Meet the Member"!


The purpose behind the Meet the Member series is to give members of Northern Michigan Event Professionals (NMEP) the chance to get to know each other on a slightly more personal level than a friendly hello while working an event together or a smile and a nod at a networking event.


This week, we want to give you a little behind-the-scenes access to the one and only Cammie Buehler of the Epicure Catering and Cherry Basket Farm. Cammie is a farm-to-table catering force to be reckoned with and provides a level of excellence that is honestly, pretty awe-inspiring. But, enough from us.


We asked Cammie a few questions and wanted to share her answers with you!

Q: What led you to this career path?

Cammie: I have found the hospitality industry chooses people, not the other way around. My first job was scooping ice cream in Leland and I've been in the industry in some context ever since. I started catering in high school and college to make a little extra scratch and found that I liked the people and the pace, and how different one job was from the next. My degree is in Outdoor Education, and after college I moved to North Lake Tahoe to work in the snow sports industry. During that time, I taught snowboarding for about 8 years, but I always cooked and catered to support myself. Coming home to "cater for a summer" sounded like a great idea, and one that would allow me to retain flexibility and ability to travel and ski/ride in the off-season. That was 16 years ago.




Q: What is the best part of your job?

Cammie: This is a difficult question, but if I had to choose one thing I think it would be working as part of a team. The team changes with every event, which keeps the work fresh. Clients, vendors, and staff are all part of the team, making each event its own little adventure.


Photo: The Weber Photographers


Q. Best piece of advice for your potential clients?

Cammie: Use your instincts to hire your vendors. Do your research, talk to vendors and find those that make you feel supported and whose expertise will be an asset. Once you hire them, relax and trust them. For may of you, this is your first large event. We do this every day. Once you hire us you are in good hands!



Photo: Megan Newman, The Weber Photographers


Q. What inspires you?

Cammie: Being outside, travel/culture, mothers, people who are genuine, people who work hard, activists, artists, athletes & intellectuals.



Photo: The Weber Photographers


Q. Most memorable event you’ve worked and why?

Cammie: Oh wow. This is also a hard question. Some are very memorable for the wrong reasons, ha ha! So much can go awry without the guests having any idea. To be honest though, some of my favorite events are extremely pared down, and where the couple's honest love for one another is the only thing the guests need to experience in order to have a magical evening.




Q. If you could travel to anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

Cammie: Luckily, as I type this I am packing for Mexico to see my sister and brother in law, who have a place in Baja. I am always up for a trip, though, and I want to go as many places as I can. I definitely need to spend more time in Central/South America, Southeast Asia, and Europe...and of course Egypt looms large on the list. This world is vast and we have so much to learn...and the clock's a tickin'!



Photo: Megan Newman, The Weber Photographers


Q: Can you tell us a fun fact about you?

Cammie: I wanted to be an Archaeologist when I grew up. Specifically, an Egyptologist. Indiana Jones was my spirit animal


You can find out more about Cammie and Epicure Catering/Cherry Basket Farm by visiting her website or Instagram!


Interested in being featured on our Meet the Member series or know someone who would be a stellar feature? We'd love to learn more! Head over to our Contact Page and shoot us a message!

124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page